ComplianceMnthlyRecap MH 5.16.22

Compliance Recap |  October 2023

By United Benefit Advisors (UBA),
  Nov 3, 2023 1:21:34 PM

October saw the release of adjusted civil penalties for HIPAA violations, ACA requirements, and Medicare Secondary Payer rules. Health plan limits and maximums for 2024 including high deductible health plans (HDHPs), health savings accounts (HSAs) flexible spending accounts (FSAs), and dependent care FSAs have been announced. Minnesota enacted a Paid Sick and Safe Leave Law to take effect on January 1, 2024, and California expanded its Paid Sick Leave. The IRS announced the annually adjusted Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) fee.


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has recently announced adjustments to civil penalties related to violations of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), the Affordable Care Act (ACA), and the Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) rules. These penalty adjustments take into account inflation and are applicable to violations that occurred on or after November 2, 2015, and for which penalties are assessed on or after October 6, 2023.

HIPAA, which focuses on privacy and security rules, categorizes penalties based on the level of intention behind the violation.

Violation New 2023 Penalty Amounts
Violation of HIPAA rules due to lack of knowledge
$137 minimum
$68,928 maximum
$2,067,813 calendar year cap
Violation of HIPAA rules due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect
$1,379 minimum
$68,928 maximum
$2,067,813 calendar year cap
Violation of HIPAA rules due to willful neglect and corrected within 30-day period
$13,785 minimum
$68,928 maximum
$2,067,813 calendar year cap
Violation of HIPAA rules due to willful neglect and not corrected within 30-day period
$68,928 minimum
$2,067,813 maximum
$2,067,813 calendar year cap


The maximum penalty for failing to provide an SBC to eligible individuals before enrollment (or re-enrollment) in a group health plan has increased from $1,264 to $1,362.

The Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) rules prevent employers from providing incentives to Medicare beneficiaries to waive or terminate primary group health plan coverage. The maximum penalty for not complying with MSP rules has increased to $11,162 from $10,360. Furthermore, the maximum penalty for failing to inform HHS when a group health plan is or was primary to Medicare has risen to $1,428 from $1,325.

Employer Considerations

To avoid these penalties, employers should carefully review their plan documents and operations to ensure compliance with the HHS-related requirements.


2023 limits announced for hdhps, hsas, fsas

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced the new limits for high-deductible health plans (HDHPs), health savings accounts (HSAs), and Dependent Care Assistance Plans (DCAPs), and health flexible spending arrangements (FSAs). The new limits take effect beginning January 1, 2024.

  2024 Limit 2023 Limit
   Self-only coverage minimum annual deductible $1,600 $1,500
   Family coverage minimum annual deductible $3,200 $3,000
   Self-only coverage out-of-pocket maximum $8,050 $7,500
   Family coverage out-of-pocket maximum $16,100 $15,000
Health FSA $3,200
   Health FSA carryover (amount that can be carried over from
   2023 to 2024)
   Unless married and filing separately $5,000
   Married and filing separately $2,500
HSA maximum contribution    
   Self-only coverage $4,150 $3,850
   Family coverage $8,300 $7,750
   Catch-up contribution for participants over Age 55 $1,000 No change



Minnesota paid sick and safe leave law

Minnesota has recently passed a statewide paid sick and safe time leave law set to take effect on January 1, 2024. This law mirrors similar laws already in place in four Minnesota cities—Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, and Bloomington. The key feature of the state law is the "front loading method," which allows employers to provide employees with 48 hours of earned sick and safe time (ESST) in the first year of employment. Employers can pay out the value of unused hours at the end of the year and avoid carrying over unused hours into the next year.

This option provides flexibility for employers in managing employee leaves of absence. Local ordinances are not preempted by the state law, and employers must follow the most protective provisions of the state or local ordinances. The determination of which is more protective depends on whether more leave or monetary benefits are considered more beneficial for employees. See the FAQs for more information.



On October 4, 2023, Governor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill No. 616 into law, amending California's paid sick leave regulations. The key changes introduced by SB 616 are:

  • Starting January 1, 2024, California employers must provide employees with five days or 40 hours of paid sick leave, an increase from the previous requirement of three days or 24 hours.
  • Employers can continue to provide paid sick leave at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. If they use a different accrual rate, employees must accrue a minimum of 40 hours by their 200th day of employment and at least 24 hours by the 120th day of employment. Employers can also front load the entire paid sick leave amount.
  • Employers may still limit the annual use of paid sick leave, but SB 616 increases the annual usage cap from 24 hours to 40 hours. The bill allows employers to cap paid sick leave accrual at 80 hours or 10 days, up from the previous limit of 48 hours or six days.
  • While SB 616 continues to exempt certain collective bargaining agreement employees from the accrual requirement, it extends some provisions of California's paid sick leave law to non-construction industry collective bargaining agreement employees. These employees may use paid sick leave for specific reasons, such as health-related issues or domestic violence, without facing retaliation. Employers cannot require these employees to find replacement workers when using sick days.


To comply with SB 616, employers are advised to review and update their paid sick leave policies to align with the new requirements and usage caps. Human resources and managers should also ensure proper implementation and adherence to the law.


Question of the Month

Q: My wife and I work in the same small company. Is having her on my plan as spouse allowed? Can we both contribute separately from our own paychecks into our own Health Savings Account (HSA)? Or does it need to be my deduction only since I am the policy holder?

A: Yes, each spouse can have an HSA. The family limit, however, is divided between the two spouses, meaning the contributions to both HSAs combined cannot exceed the family HSA contribution limit.

Answers to the Question of the Week are provided by Kutak Rock LLP. Kutak Rock provides general compliance guidance through the UBA Compliance Help Desk, which does not constitute legal advice or create an attorney-client relationship. Please consult your legal advisor for specific legal advice.

This information is general in nature and provided for educational purposes only. It is not intended to provide legal advice. You should not act on this information without consulting legal counsel or other knowledgeable advisors.

©2023 United Benefit Advisors

About UBA
United Benefit Advisors® (UBA) is the nation's leading independent employee benefits advisory organization with more than 200 offices throughout the United States, Canada, and Europe. UBA empowers 2,000+ advisors to maintain independence while capitalizing on each other's shared knowledge and market presence to provide best-in-class services and solutions.

The content contained in this website, including but not limited to all text, images, trademarks, and logos, is owned by United Benefit Advisors® (UBA) except as otherwise expressly stated or provided by third parties. 
UBA Partner Firms must keep all copyright, trademark, and copy intact. All others may link directly to the UBA website to share UBA copyrighted material; they may not duplicate, distribute, create derivative works, or otherwise use this site's content.